The spiritual side to mood disorders

I haven’t spoken much about the spiritual side of anxiety, depression and panic attacks thus far. I tend put a lot of focus on nutrition as I believe it’s a good foundation for everyone to work on and it’s also relatively easy to implement. That said, the spiritual side of these mood problems are also very important to address.

I would almost go as far as to say that these mood dysfunctions are manifestations of an inner spiritual problem, even though there is a strong physical element involved. I believe we are spiritual beings having a physical experience in this life.

Our inner fears, doubts and negative emotions tend to become amplified under stress if we haven’t developed the correct spiritual frame of reference. One of the benefits of having to deal with a mood disorder such as anxiety or depression is that you learn to draw on great inner reserves that were previously untapped, helping you to further your potential for growth and development as a human being. The healing journey also tends to nurture certain virtues in yourself such as compassion, forgiveness, acceptance, love and trust.

I believe that anyone healing from a mood disorder will benefit tremendously from having some type of spiritual practice in their lives. For some people, it could be something as simple as starting to attend church again and becoming reacquainted with God. For others it might be sitting quietly, meditating by observing their thoughts. It could also something like having weekly discussions with a trusted friend, someone that can help you see “the other (positive) side” to life when you’re struggling finding resolution with your own anxieties and phobias.

I’ve witnessed the power of spiritual practice firsthand in myself and others. My sister started suffering from panic attacks at the beginning of 2011. Nutritional and lifestyle changes helped her a lot, but if she slipped up it was easy for her thinking pattern to be disrupted. Weekly practice of yoga two and sometimes three times a week, caused the most tremendous, lasting change in her. Her anxiety and panic attacks disappeared, her self-esteem and sense of purpose increased. All in all, the results of her yoga practice were beyond anything I ever expected.

One of the most powerful spiritual healing practices I’ve done for myself, and still continue to do on a daily basis is known as the Healing Codes. I first heard about the healing codes in March of 2010. At the time I was on clonazepam (an anti-anxiety medication), lexapro (an anti-depressant) as well as a host of different nutritional supplements and I wasn’t in a good head space. I don’t condemn these medications, but I feel like they weren’t right for me at the time.

After doing the healing codes for a few weeks I managed to successfully withdraw myself off the medications for the first time since April 2008, which is when I started taking them. I had tried withdrawing a few times before that, under the guidance of my psychiatrist as well as various other healthcare practitioners, but without success and often with horrifying results.

I can’t explain exactly how the healing codes works. It’s strange, but even though I do the Healing Codes every day I am still skeptical on many levels. What I’m doing just seems so bizarre and out there and yet my experience thus far has been of powerful change, healing and a sort of guidance in life as well as inner peace. I’ve also met some incredibly spiritual people (one in particular) who completely rocked my world through doing the codes. This is from the Healing Codes website:

The Healing Codes activate powerful healing centers that can allow the body to heal itself of almost anything. They do this by removing the stress from the body, thus allowing the neuro-immune system to take over its job of healing whatever is wrong in the body.

These healing centers are activated by positioning the hands and fingertips at certain parts of the body, while repeating affirmations or “Truth Focus Statements”. It usually takes me about 30 minutes per day to do the codes.

The healing codes are all about healing the heart and clearing your body of it’s negative cellular memories. It’s now known that trauma and bad experiences are stored in our bodies at a cellular level. For true healing to happen we need to clear these negative cellular memories and reprogram them with positive beliefs about ourselves and the world.

The long term positive effects of the healing codes didn’t happen overnight for me, but by doing them it’s felt I’m being guided, like I can let go of the reigns for a bit. I feel like I can trust that I’m looked after even if I’m not feeling my best and that everything happens for a reason. It’s powerful stuff. It may not be right for you, but if any of what I’ve said resonates with you, I’d highly suggest you give the Healing Codes a try. If it doesn’t sound right for you then you should still defnitely do some type of spiritual practice and be consistent with it. There’s a wide range of great stuff out there, things like Trauma Releasing Exercises, Emotional Freedom Technique, Psychotherapy, Meditation, Religion, Neuro Linguistic Programming and many more I don’t know much about. What spiritual practices have you found helpful in your own life?

Leave a Reply

