Take control of your health

I’ve seen more health practitioners than I’d like to admit, including naturopaths, a chinese medicine doctor, a host of different general practitioners,  a psychiatrist, a clinical metal toxicologist, a cranial sacral therapist, EFT therapist, TRE therapist and a nutritionist. There may be more that I can’t think of right now. As I look back on my journey I realise that none of these people are Gods and none of them provided me with an “ultimate cure”. I don’t think such a thing necessarily exists.

None of these practitioners know everything there is to know about me or the conditions I presented to them. After all, I am the one living in this body and I know how I feel better than anyone else can tell me. The same applies to all people.

That said, I learnt something about myself and my own body from each practitioner’s different ideas and view points, and were able to mesh ideas and frameworks together that work well for myself. There is no such a thing as an ultimate truth, particularly not in the world of health and nutrition. One week butter is good for you, another week butter is bad for you. One year vegetarian diets are in vogue, then low carb diets, then high carb diets etc. You get the idea…

When it comes to health and nutrition I think the most important thing to do is to educate yourself and experiment with different ideas until you find something that works for you. You’ll know you’ve found “it” when you sleep well, you play well, you have a good cheerful mood and life feels good all round.

Every time you experiment with your body or try something that a practitioner recommends you learn something about yourself and how to create your own health program.

The reason that I thought of this post was because of my experience today at the local GP’s office. I took my ferritin test results to her, along with some information about iron overload (because I correctly assumed there might be some issue with my “unusual request” to have her draw my blood). I explained the whole situation to her (similar to my previous blog post). She responded to me by saying “but your lab results are in the normal range”. The normal range in this case being 20-300, even though it doesn’t take a mathematician to figure out that my ferritin levels are rising year by year, and will eventually be at the high end if it continues this way.

We ended up having a decent chat, she thought the information about iron overload was very interesting but at the end of the day she said that she is a very cautious doctor and refuses to do anything out of the “standard practice”. I can completely understand where she’s coming from. Unfortunately we need to protect ourselves from being sued in this monetary based society we live in, but this caution and heed for “official” rules and regulations blunts a lot of creativity and opportunity for human growth in my opinion.

I am not saying that I condone anarchy, but I do think we need to develop the ability to “think out of the box”. As I can see it, the guys and girls truly helping people become healthier, people like Paul Jaminet, Chris Kresser, Danny Roddy, Josh Rubin, Matt Stone, are all people that don’t just accept something because it is standard practice or the norm. All they care about is results, critically examining the evidence of different methodologies when it comes to health and making a sound decision based on that and their own experience.

The health care practitioners that have helped me the most are the ones with the attitude “Here you go, I think this will really help you” rather than “You MUST do this, you have no other options, you don’t know what you are talking about”. Stay away from the latter group, they can do a lot of harm. Fantastic health care practitioners are all around us, people who truly want to help people reach their best potential.

Remember, there are no “ultimate truths”, especially with regards to health. Find what works for you, don’t judge others harshly if you don’t agree with what they are doing or saying. Treasure the practitioners that can guide you to finding your own truth.

Leave a Reply

